June 30, 2011

TGIF! (8)

TGIF is brought to us by Ginger at GReads!

It's a way for bloggers to celebrate the end of the week with a nice re-cap of their weekly posts and to answer a random question.

Mr & Mrs: Who are your favorite book couples?


Sound familiar? Yes, one of my favorite book couples of all time is Jessica Darling and Marcus Flutie, from Megan McCafferty's Jessica Darling series. Honestly, I think it's pretty much impossible to dislike this couple. (I LOVE THEM. No, seriously.) Or Marcus. I mean, really. Marcus is...perfection - every girl's dream (it's guaranteed that you'll swoon, no lie.). I couldn't get enough of him; I always wanted more. I could babble on and on about him, but I'll just throw a few quotes in here.



Another favorite book couple of mine is Suze and Jesse from Meg Cabot's Mediator series. I know. Old school, right? But how can you not love that forbidden human/ghost relationship? They're one of the first couples I really fell in love with.

And, of course, I cannot leave out Mr. and Mrs. Weasley, from the Harry Potter series. They're both absolutely precious. Between his curious quirks, her tough lovin' and their combined compassion, they're a super couple always ready to bring relief.

These are just a few of my beloved book couples. I could go on, but that would take forever! (Plus I'd have a hard time getting myself to stop fawning over Mr. Flutie...)
Grammar Bit #13

Coming up this week:
Review of The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa!

June 29, 2011

Grammar Bit #13.


When do you use them?
When a comma just isn't good enough!

Typically a semicolon is used for a discontinuity or pause.
It sits between two independent clauses (sentences that can stand on their own),
without the use of a conjunction (and, but, or).

EX. I have a date tonight; I cannot run errands.

The semicolon brings together two independent clauses that are related.

If you want to learn the fun way, check THIS out!

Waiting On Wednesday (13).

Waiting On Wednesday is from Jill, at Breaking the Spine.

Dreams of Significant Girls by Cristina Garcia

Brought together each summer at a boarding school in Switzerland, three girls learn a lot more than just French and European culture. Shirin, an Iranian princess; Ingrid, a German-Canadian eccentric; and Vivien, a Cuban-Jewish New Yorker culinary phenom, are thrown into eachother's lives when they become roommates. This is a story of 3 paths slowly beginning to cross and merge as they spend the year apart, but the summers together. Through navigating the social-cultural shoals of the school, developing their adolescence, and learning the confusing and conflicting legacies of their families' past, Shirin, Ingrid, and Vivien form an unbreakable bond.

Just discovered this and immediately fell in love with both the description and cover. It looks so peaceful. And the summary reminds me of the Traveling Pants series, which, if you saw my last IMM or WoW, I've been stuck on.

June 26, 2011

In My Mailbox (15).

Sisterhood Everlasting  by Ann Brashares.

Finally got it! Going to have to bump this up on my TBR list because I can't wait to read it. I'm anxious to see how life is now for the Traveling Pants girls.

June 25, 2011

REVIEW! Massive.

Julia Bell
"I'm fat," I hear myself saying. I look in the mirror. My face has gone hot and red; I feel like I'm going to explode. "I'm fat." It sizzles under my skin, puffing me up, pushing me out, making me massive.

Weight has always been a big issue in Carmen's life. How could it not? Her mom is obsessed with the idea that thin equals beautiful, thin equals successful, thin equals the way to get what you want. Carmen knows that as far as her mom is concerned, there is only one option: be thin.

When her mother sweeps her off to live in the city, Carmen finds that her old world is disappearing. As her life spirals out of control Carmen begins to take charge of the only thing she can — what she eats. If she were thin, very thin, could it all be different?
My rating: 3 stars.


As much as I love when novels tackle difficult and/or taboo topics, I don't feel that Massive effectively handles the issue of eating disorders.
The writing is dry and very bland, yet reflective. Carmen does become obsessive with her thoughts and feelings toward weight, but the thoughts never seem to change or differ.  Her mother is an unbearable character - pushy and full of the worst intentions. The story comes to encompass the two of them; this wouldn't be an issue if there were other worthwhile characters.  But alas, there is no one else in the cast worth being noted.
My biggest problem is that there's absolutely no resolution.  You watch Carmen and her mother struggle, and then nothing.  No help, no change. It's an oddly dark read and harsh in its words. Don't expect a happy ending, or much of an ending at all. The pace straggles then abruptly comes to a close, leaving you hanging.
Massive is a disappointment in both its story and reading experience.

June 24, 2011

Book Blogger Hop & Follow Friday.

Book Blogger Hop

I came across the Hop and Follow Friday while I was blog hopping - how appropriate! - and decided to join in on the fun.

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly thing going on over at Crazy-for-Books. Follow My Book Blog Friday is hosted by Parajunkee. If you're a new blogger like I am, or have been blogging for a while, stop by the sites and get involved!

Weekly question: When did you realize reading was your passion and a truly important part of your life?

I honestly don't remember. I've been reading since forever, and have never stopped.


June 22, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (12).

Waiting On Wednesday is from Jill, at Breaking the Spine.

Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares
Return to the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants ... 10 years later.
Now Tibby, Lena, Carmen, and Bridget have grown up, starting their lives on their own. And though the jeans they shared are long gone, the sisterhood is everlasting.
Despite having jobs and men that they love, each knows that something is missing: the closeness that once sustained them. Carmen is a successful actress in New York, engaged to be married, but misses her friends. Lena finds solace in her art, teaching in Rhode Island, but still thinks of Kostos and the road she didn’t take. Bridget lives with her longtime boyfriend, Eric, in San Francisco, and though a part of her wants to settle down, a bigger part can’t seem to shed her old restlessness.
Then Tibby reaches out to bridge the distance, sending the others plane tickets for a reunion that they all breathlessly await. And indeed, it will change their lives forever—but in ways that none of them could ever have expected.

Okay, this is more of a Waiting on My Mailbox kind of deal. The release date for this was the 14th, and somehow I missed any and all publicity for it. I still have no idea how it slipped under my radar. I haven't read the series since I was about twelve, but I was immediately drawn to this. It's kind of like how I was with Megan McCafferty's Jessica Darling series; I finished it, then time went by, then a closing book was released and I was hooked all over again.

So, needless to say, I ordered this the moment I stumbled upon it. Now I just have to wait for it to get to me!

June 21, 2011

WICKED LOVELY is hitting the big screen!

That's right. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr is going to be a movie.
 Read all about it HERE.

Let me just say that although this series has been a bumpy road for me with its super ups and disappointing downs, I am absolutely ecstatic it's finally being made into a movie. If they do it justice, I think it will be wonderful.

(Irial fangirl time?)

Top Ten Tuesday: Why I Love Book Blogging.

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish.


1. The books. No, I don't mean the free ones. I mean all of the books introduced to me through all of you fellow bloggers, tours, memes, etc. My TBR list is very long because of this - and I love it; I will never not have anything to read.

2. The people. Seems obvious and generic, right? But truthfully, we all know book bloggers have their little niches. And I'm so happy to have gotten to know some of you. I hope it continues.

3. The practice. Not only do I get to better my writing, but also my blogging skills. And that entails everything from publicity to HTML.

4. The authors. When I first started blogging, I had no idea authors were so receptive to the book blogging community. But after hosting several interviews and giveaways, I now know that authors ROCK. I've come across some of the kindest people, easily approachable and ready to share their work with their readers.

5. The discussion. If there's one thing I LOVE, it's talking about books. Anything and everything related to books. This is the ultimate book-talk forum.

6. The versatility. I know. This one's a weird one. But really. Where else can you discuss, give away, tour, celebrate and tweet about books?

7. The change. Another weird one. But honestly? You all have helped me get into books I never would've considered reading otherwise.

8. The excitement. I know blogging can sometimes be hard work, but it's totally worth it. I love those moments when one blogger gets excited about a particular book and, in turn, makes every other blogger just as excited. There's always something to look forward to.

9. The challenge. Like I said above, blogging is hard work sometimes. But I love figuring out in what direction I want to take my blog.

10. The experience. From my first post up until my last (whenever that will be - hopefully never), I'll be able to say that book blogging has been one heck of an experience that I wish I'd discovered sooner.

*Happy one year blogoversary, TB&TB!

June 20, 2011

To my lovely commenters,

I'm currently experiencing severe Blogger Fail. And by that, I mean that Blogger will not allow me to reply to all of your wonderful comments - here and on your own blogs. It refuses to keep me signed in, and if your blog doesn't have a Name/URL or Intense Debate option available for me to use, I cannot comment.

It's more than unfortunate, but I just wanted to let you all know so you don't think I'm ignoring you and/or not caring. I care! And I really dislike getting backed up on commenting. However, I'm dealing with it the best that I can.

(This has been my mantra.)

* As a bit of a totally irrelevant side note, WHO'S EXCITED FOR POTTERMORE?
If you couldn't tell by the random CAPS, I definitely am. Any theories?

** And did I mention I have almost 400 FOLLOWERS?! You are all amazing. Cannot express how happy that makes me. Oh, wait. Yes I can. With a giveaway! Be on the lookout for the big 4-0-0.

June 19, 2011

In My Mailbox (14).

Wolf Storm (signed ARC) by Dee Garretson.

Many, many thanks to Armchair BEA and Ms. Garretson for this! I was so happy when it finally arrived. Also got a free bookmark and personalized note, which was just absolutely amazing. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

June 16, 2011

Book Blogger Hop & Follow Friday.

Book Blogger Hop

I came across the Hop and Follow Friday while I was blog hopping - how appropriate! - and decided to join in on the fun.

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly thing going on over at Crazy-for-Books. Follow My Book Blog Friday is hosted by Parajunkee. If you're a new blogger like I am, or have been blogging for a while, stop by the sites and get involved!

Weekly question: How many books are in your TBR pile?

A lot. More than my Goodreads account says (which is only 36). I have my own separate checklist/TBR list, too. And I even keep a list on my phone. It really all depends where I am at the time of hearing about a good book. So I can't say for sure how many are in my TBR pile, but I know it's over 100.


June 15, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (11).

Waiting On Wednesday is from Jill, at Breaking the Spine.

Pretty Bad Things by C.J. Skuse
"Wonder Twins" on the run--and running amok--in Vegas. Road Trip!

Paisley and Beau are boldface names again. Last time, paparazzi called them the "Wonder Twins," two kids found alone but alive in the woods of exotic New Jersey. Three days after their mom's death -- and before their dad's criminal misdeeds.

Flash-forward to now: Their so-called lives? Suck out loud: Hating on their cougarized, Botoxic grandma, they're totally clueless about the location of ex-con Daddy. Till they discover a stash of old letters. That's when they decide to jack the Pontiac and hit the road. Holding up donut shops in Sin City might seem extreme, but if they can just get their pretty bad faces back on TV -- or TMZ -- they might wrap up their whole gaga saga with an Oprah-worthy reunion already!

Crazy. That's the only word that comes to mind when I read the description.

June 14, 2011

Pretty Little Liars.

I have a confession. I am now addicted to Pretty Little Liars.

No, not the books. The TV show. I was fortunate enough to see the marathon and new episode tonight, and I must say that I now want to know more, more, more!

I think know it was the tacky, creepy Barbie-esque covers that deterred me from ever picking up this series. I know you're not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but in this case I just couldn't help myself; they really creep me out. But after watching Season 1, I'm curious to know what actually happens within the books.

This happens to me all the time. I stop myself from seeing something for so long, then bam! I see it and become hopelessly addicted/interested. But I don't mind. I've heard really good things about this series, so I hope it lives up to the hype.

I just have to figure out how I'm going to get all of them. Ugh.

Anyone ever read these? I know there must be a bunch of you out there that have. What do you think?

Playing Hurt giveaway winner!

Thank you to everyone who entered!
And congratulations to
kaye @ thepapereader
for winning!

Even if you didn't win, you should still read Playing Hurt. It's worth your time.

*Winner chosen by random.org.
*Please respond to my email within 48 hours or a new winner will be chosen.

June 11, 2011

In My Mailbox (13).

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta.
The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa.
Stay by Deb Caletti.

Okay, I cannot express how excited I am for these. I've heard Jellicoe Road is AMAZING (and I liked Saving Francesca, so I know I like the author). I've been waiting for The Iron Queen ever since I finished The Iron Daughter.  And Stay will be my first Deb Caletti novel; I hope it's a good choice.

Chair of awesome.

Is this not possibly the COOLEST chair any book lover's ever seen?
I want it so badly that I had to share its amazing design with all of you.

June 10, 2011

TGIF! (7)

TGIF is brought to us by Ginger at GReads!

It's a way for bloggers to celebrate the end of the week with a nice re-cap of their weekly posts and to answer a random question.

YA Saves: How do you feel about the "dark" books filling our YA shelves today?

I don't think any of the YA books are "dark." At least, not in the sense "dark" is being taken these days. I think some YA books are "depressing" or "raw" or "insightful." Not "dark."  "Dark" - as it's been used in the past few days/weeks - undermines YA literature.  To say YA books are "dark" is to say that no good comes from them.  As an avid reader of YA literature, I have to disagree; the good comes in many different forms, but it's there, even in "dark" YA books.

Do I personally agree with every action or thought attributed to the heroes/heroines/characters in the "dark" books? No, of course not. There's always going to be that girl that feels she needs to be perfect. There's always going to be that guy (or many guys) looking for nothing but sex. There's always going to be the overlooked best friend that needs you in times of trouble, even though you're fighting. There's always going to be the damsel in distress that makes men appear superior.  There's always going to be the fighter.  There's always going to be the winner and the loser.  But just because there's always going to be these things - these types of characters - it doesn't mean that I have to be, or will be, like any of them. It doesn't mean one, two, three books are going to overturn my own sense of reality and identity.

Even if the issues/problems have never personally happened to me before, it doesn't mean I should be ignorant of them. 

I don't think there's anything wrong with "dark" books filling our shelves. I think it's about time people tackle the issues few are willing to discuss/express out loud or in person. The good's always there. Some just refuse to see it.


Playing Hurt thank you!
Waiting on Wednesday
REVIEW! For Keeps
In My Mailbox

Coming up this week:

Review of Going Bovine by Libba Bray!

June 9, 2011

Playing Hurt thank you!

 Holly Schindler, author of Playing Hurt, created a video for everyone involved with her book tours, blog posting, etc. Check it out!


My giveaway for Playing Hurt is still going on! You have 4 days left to enter!

Form is here.

June 8, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (10).

Waiting On Wednesday is from Jill, at Breaking the Spine.

A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley
A summer of friendship, romance, and songs in major chords. . . .
CHARLIE DUSKIN loves music, and she knows she's good at it. But she only sings when she's alone, on the moonlit porch or in the back room at Old Gus's Secondhand Record and CD Store. Charlie's mom and grandmother have both died, and this summer she's visiting her grandpa in the country, surrounded by ghosts and grieving family, and serving burgers to the local kids at the milk bar. She's got her iPod, her guitar, and all her recording equipment, but she wants more: A friend. A dad who notices her. The chance to show Dave Robbie that she's not entirely unspectacular.
ROSE BUTLER lives next door to Charlie's grandfather and spends her days watching cars pass on the freeway and hanging out with her troublemaker boyfriend. She loves Luke but can't wait to leave their small country town. And she's figured out a way: she's won a scholarship to a science school in the city, and now she has to convince her parents to let her go. This is where Charlie comes in. Charlie, who lives in the city, and whom Rose has ignored for years. Charlie, who just might be Rose's ticket out.

I'm a sucker for alternating viewpoints. Could possibly be cheesy, but I'm intrigued.

June 5, 2011

In My Mailbox (12).

Summer's Crossing by Julie Kagawa.

I heard this takes place after the Iron Queen, so unfortunately I'll have to hold off reading it until I can snag a copy of the other.

June 4, 2011

REVIEW! For Keeps.

For Keeps 
Natasha Friend
For sixteen years, Josie Gardner and her mom, Kate, have been a team. It's been the Gardner Girls against the world, and that's how Josie likes it. Until one day, they find out that Paul Tucci, Kate's high school boyfriend-the father Josie has never met-is back in town. Josie's mom suddenly turns back into the heartbroken teenager she was when Paul moved away. Meanwhile, Josie's on the verge of having her first real boyfriend. And when Josie learns some surprising truths about Paul Tucci and the past, she begins questioning what she thought she knew, and finds out what happens when a girl gets the guy she always wanted and the dad she never knew she needed.

My rating: 3 stars.


Charming, approachable, sweet.

For Keeps begins with a good premise, good characters, good descriptions/dialogue/etc.  In many ways I was reminded of that TV show, Modern Family (Ever heard of it? So funny.). The characters are quirky but real and relatable.  And then there's Matt, Josie's sort-of boyfriend; he's perfect, which makes him incredibly flat and boring. But aside from him, I don't have many complaints against the rest.

When Josie finally interacts with Paul Tucci's parents, I was hooked. But shortly thereafter, the pace slows and the book flounders.  Issues that arise with her mom are out of character for the two of them. Josie's friend, Liz, suddenly interrupts with her own drama. Matt swoops in with his boyish charm. And I was left wondering where the plot was going. Too many things are going on at once, and not all to Josie, so it's difficult to only focus on her. But it's not that those other characters and their problems are uninteresting. It's just that this should be Josie's story, and to me it feels as though they're telling the story for her - like they're doing all the work. (Like I said - Modern Family.)

For Keeps is still a pleasant, easy read.  It just didn't go in the direction I anticipated, even though it has so much potential to do so.

June 3, 2011

TGIF! (6)

TGIF is brought to us by Ginger at GReads!

It's a way for bloggers to celebrate the end of the week with a nice re-cap of their weekly posts and to answer a random question.

Book Love: Do you share your books with others? Who was the last person you sent a book to?

You're going to think I'm awful, but I don't share my books. I'm terribly OCD/paranoid about their condition(s). I don't want the pages dog-eared, stained, crumpled, etc... And the way the spine gets after opening the book too widely, so then they never lay flat? I hate that, too.

But, I've been known to lend to really close friends that know of my paranoia. I've also participated in blog tours, and we all know those are sent, and arrive, with varying conditions.


June 1, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (9).

Waiting On Wednesday is from Jill, at Breaking the Spine.

Every You, Every Me by David Levithan
In this high school-set psychological tale, a tormented teen named Evan starts to discover a series of unnerving photographs—some of which feature him. Someone is stalking him . . . messing with him . . . threatening him. Worse, ever since his best friend Ariel has been gone, he's been unable to sleep, spending night after night torturing himself for his role in her absence. And as crazy as it sounds, Evan's starting to believe it's Ariel that's behind all of this, punishing him. But the more Evan starts to unravel the mystery, the more his paranoia and insomnia amplify, and the more he starts to unravel himself.

I haven't even gotten around to reading The Lover's Dictionary and I'm already waiting on another David Levithan novel. But I can't help it! I absolutely love his writing.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...